This is an automated archive made by the Lemmit Bot.

The original was posted on /r/edh by /u/Dull_Ad_9590 on 2023-10-05 18:18:26.


The situation is this: We are in a 4 player EDH tournament pod, and Player A tutors out his combo piece. He immediately begins executing the combo, and I tell him to “wait” (I have a response). He continues doing his combo which involves several library cards being revealed and permanent cards being put onto the battlefield, in spite of me repeating “wait” several times. He has definitely heard me (evidenced by the annoyed look on his face), and the other players have also heard me, but he still continues.

I decide to analyze the game state from the point at which I asked him to wait (his tutored combo piece on the stack), and decide how and if I want to respond.

When I do announce my response, he says it is too late and he had already cast that a while ago.

My understanding of the rules is that the game state would rewind to the point where I had and held priority (his tutored combo piece on the stack), and my response would go on the stack from that point. (If that is incorrect, please enlighten me)

But my question is is an intentional ignoring of opponents responses (to a point that disrupts the board state beyond repair) against the rules to a point that would award him a game loss? Or some sort of infraction?

The judge in this case was a friend of Player A, and ruled in his favor. (Which irked me a bit, so I don’t often play there anymore).